• Call us now: 0300 303 0444
  • Call us now: 0300 303 0444

You are here

Student midwives forum

Student midwives forum

Role of the student midwife forum

The RCM student midwives forum (SMF) debates and discusses issues affecting student midwives at local and national levels to inform the work of the RCM on behalf of student midwife members. The SMF currently meets three times a year at RCM headquarters in central London and are made up of members who are elected by fellow student midwife members of the RCM.

Each of the four countries in the UK has student midwife representatives on the SMF and the group is chaired by a student midwife member and supported by RCM staff. We lead the RCM Student Midwives’ Conference each year, identifying issues of interest and concern to student midwives and uniquely contributing to the programme.

The SMF is currently reviewing the way it works to ensure that it continues to effectively network with student midwife members. A virtual reference group will be set up to include a representative from each university/midwifery society to make sure everyone has their voice heard. It has also been identified that an alumni of past SMF members would be invaluable in supporting the transition from student midwife to midwife.
 

Membership

Student midwife members will be informed of vacancies and invited to self nominate. Below is a list of the current membership of the SMF with their contact email addresses. If there is any issue that you would wish to be debated by the forum, please make contact.

England
Louise Webster - webl1_14@uni.worc.ac.uk
Charlene Cole – colec10@uni.coventry.ac.uk
Alice Kersey – ak9089f@greenwich.ac.uk
Rocio Corral Penalver – RC931@live.mdx.ac.uk


Northern Ireland
Alana Divito - adivito01@qub.ac.uk
Ellie Whitaker - ewhitaker01@qub.ac.uk

 

Scotland
Shaunee Jamieson - shauneej2010@gmail.com
Elizabeth Barilli - B00235948@studentmail.uws.ac.uk


Wales
Rachel Evans - rachel_a_evans@hotmail.com
Jennifer Pope - PopeJ3@cardiff.ac.uk

Updates

For further information about the RCM SMF, contact RCM head of organising and engagement Denise Linay at: denise.linay@rcm.org.uk or on: 0300 303 0444. Or alternatively you can view updates from the SMF in the Studentezine which is emailed to all RCM student members.