• Call us now: 0300 303 0444
  • Call us now: 0300 303 0444

You are here

RCM Awards shortlist revealed

21 October, 2011

RCM Awards shortlist revealed

The shortlist has today (21 October) been announced for the prestigious 2012 RCM Annual Midwifery Awards. Posted: 21 October 2011 by Robert Dabrowski

The shortlist has today (21 October) been announced for the prestigious 2012 RCM Annual Midwifery Awards.

Bio Oil sponsors the RCM Annual Awards 2012

An expert judging panel has been through the swathes of entries and Midwives can now reveal the finalists.

Those selected will be invited for an interview with the RCM and the winners will be announced at the awards ceremony next year.

Sue Macdonald, RCM education and research manager, said: ‘The awards are such a special opportunity for midwives to highlight their unique and important work, and promote their role in the maternity service to others in the acute and community sectors and indeed to the wider world.’   

There is a wide selection of categories in the awards, which are held to celebrate excellence in midwifery. 

The shortlisted is below, aside from the ‘Maternity employer of the year’ and the ‘Members’ champion’ categories, which are still to be announced.

The awards lunch will be held on 25 January 2012, at the Grand Connaught Rooms in Covent Garden, London.

The event will take place 12.30pm-4pm and includes a drinks reception and lunch.

Tickets can now be booked and cost £89+vat for RCM members or £150+vat for non-members.

All midwives shortlisted for awards will receive one complimentary ticket and group booking discounts are available.

For more information, or to book tickets, please visit the RCM Awards site.

Shortlist for 2012 awards

Pampers award for excellence in postnatal and newborn care

ABMU Health Board: Julie Austin
Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust: Sarah Gregson and Jean Meadows
South Eastern Trust: Julie Gough

Promoting normal birth
Barnsley Hospital NHSFT: Susan Cooper
NHS Ayrshire and Arran: Donna Burns and Alison Fyfe
South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust: Rachel Lavelle and Yvonne Regan

Philips Avent award for innovation in midwifery
Cardiff and Vale University Health Board: Julia Sanders and Laura Mundy
NHS Lanarkshire: Jacqueline Holmes and Susan Short
University of Nottingham: Jenny Bailey

Pampers student vision award

Aongola Ngenda: University of Bradford
Julie Haigh: Salford University
Rachel Yates: University of Surrey

Mothercare award for supporting families in the community

Epsom and St Helier Hospitals University Trust: Elaine Smith
NHS Forth Valley: Valerie Arbuckle and Robbie Duffy
St Helens and Knowsley NHS Trust: Allison Wright and Gayle Woods

Excellence in maternity care
Basildon and Thurrock University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust: Jennie Ponting and Elizabeth Carpenter
CMFT: Kathryn Murphy and Claire Stanley
East Cheshire NHS Trust: Amanda Lucas

Excellence in initiatives in improving public health and reducing inequalities
Dudley Group NHSFT: Stephanie Mansell and Sally Cornfield
Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust: Sue Hancock and Nicola MacPhail
Birmingham City University - Natasha Carr and Maggie Prain

Johnson's baby award for excellence in midwifery education

Scottish Multiprofessional Development Programme: Helene Marshall and Catriona Connelly
University of Hertfordshire: Francesca Entwistle and Denise Campbell
University of Nottingham: Jenny Bailey

Bio-Oil team of the year
East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust: Christine Hilton and Susan Horne
South London Healthcare trust: Alison Eagle
WWL Foundation Trust: Karen Colquitt and Joanne Brady

NMSF award supporting training and rewarding excellence in bereavement care
Bradford Teaching Hospitals: Julie Key
NHS Tayside: Daryl Mallis
South Eastern Trust: Hilary Patterson

Printer-friendly version